數學

在韋伯船長小學,孩子們可以在上下文中學習數學知識和技能。通常與主題工作領域相關聯,這使得數學學習變得有趣、引人入勝並與兒童的生活、更廣闊的世界和課程的其他領域相關。我們以這種方式學習的方法確保孩子們為在關鍵階段 3 等待他們的數學挑戰做好安全準備,並且他們已經在廣泛的環境中應用他們的數學知識和技能 - 我們認為這項技能對他們很重要我們學習者的未來生活。

每個工作單元都經過仔細規劃,以確保它與課程的其他領域相關。例如,當 4 年級的孩子學習魔藥時,他們學習分數並在製作魔藥時應用它;在 6 年級,孩子們使用他們的測量技能來設計一個比例尺的維多利亞村;在第 2 年,孩子們在參觀當地的糖果店時會運用他們使用金錢的知識。我們學校教授的每個數學單元都是根據情境目的進行規劃的。

教師在計劃作業單元時使用“冷件”作業來評估兒童的先驗知識。從“冷件”的評估開始,設定個人目標並開始學習之旅。向孩子們介紹數學特定領域的關鍵概念、詞彙和現實世界的應用。其中一個數學技能已經教過,然後他們將所學應用於情境化的挑戰,然後用“熱門作品”完成學習,在那裡他們可以看到他們取得的進步。

數學概述

要查看何時教授哪些數學領域的概述,請參閱下面的數學概述。要了解這些單元如何適應我們學校更廣泛的課程,請在此處查看每個年級的課程概述文件。

計算策略

要了解我們如何在整個學校教授各種計算元素的概述,請參閱下面的計算政策和支持附錄。

Maths

At Captain Webb Primary School children learn mathematical knowledge and skills in context. Often linked to areas of theme work, this makes learning in maths fun, engaging and relevant to children's lives, the wider world and other areas of the curriculum. Our approach to learning in this way ensures that children are securely prepared for the mathematical challenges that await them in Key Stage 3 and that they have experienced applying their mathematical knowledge and skills in a wide range of contexts - a skill we believe to be important for our learners' future lives.

Each unit of work is carefully planned to ensure that it is relevant to other areas of the curriculum. For example, when children in Year 4 are learning about potions, they learn about fractions and apply this when potion making; in Year 6, children use their measuring skills to design a scale Victorian village; and in Year 2, children use their knowledge of using money when they visit a local sweet shop. Every mathematical unit taught in our school is planned with a contextualised purpose.

Teachers use a 'Cold Piece' of work to asses children's prior knowledge when planning a unit of work. From the assessment of the 'Cold Piece', individual targets are set and the learning journey begins. Children are introduced to the key concepts, vocabulary and real world application of the particular area of maths. One the maths skills have been taught they then apply their learning in a contextualised challenge before finishing the learning with a 'Hot Piece', where they can see the progress that they have made. 

Maths Overviews

To see an overview of which areas of maths are taught when, please see the Maths Overviews below. To see how these units fit into the wider curriculum at our school, head over to the Curriculum Overview documents for each year group here. 

Calculation Policy

To see an overview of how we teach the various elements of calculation across the school please see the Calculation Policy and supporting appendices below. 

Join us on facebook

Contact Us

Address

  • Facebook - White Circle

Tel: 01952 386770

Email: julie.folger@taw.org.uk

Captain Webb Primary School

Webb Crescent, Dawley

Telford, TF4 3DU

To request a paper copy of the information on this website, free of charge, please contact the school office.